How To Get More Out Of Twitter

So you started a Twitter account. Now what? You need to spend a little time on Twitter to get things rolling.

keyboard-561124_1920

Who To Follow On Twitter?

I learned about Twitter the hard way. I started following dozens of people and publications. I would follow back anybody who followed me. I wound up with a newsfeed full of junk.

Following thousands of people doesn’t mean a thing if they’re not the right ones!

A couple of years ago, I decided to clean house. I deleted all but 200 people that I was following. I only followed people from four basic categories:

  1. Major publications: Sites of interest with reliable reputations, such as The New York Times and The Washington Post.
  2. Bloggers: I chose to keep certain bloggers in my feed. Bloggers like Michael Hyatt, Jeff Goins, and Joshua Becker all have information that can be useful to me.
  3. Friends: I don’t have too many personal friends on Twitter, but I kept the ones that I do have.
  4. People interested in simple living: Hip Diggs is a blog about simple living and minimalism. I want to reach people with those interests. The majority of the people that I currently follow on Twitter are interested in simple living.

The takeaway is simple. Don’t just follow anybody. Be specific. Follow those who are potential readers of your work. Follow those who can help you. Michael Hyatt has shared several of my posts. Jeff Goins has given me some good writing advice.

Since I cleaned out my Twitter feed, I discovered something. I started getting more retweets. I may follow less people, but they’re the right people. They’re more likely to share my work.

Try This Experiment

Follow 20 people on Twitter who are interested in the same niche as you write about. Then go and delete 20 people who are just mucking up your feed. See if it makes a difference. Repeat this as many times as necessary to create the right mix.

Leave a Reply

